Created in 1980, the BeHRA (Belgian Heart Rhythm Association) is a working group of the Belgian Society of Cardiology that brings together Belgian cardiologists who specialise in training cardiac rhythm disorders. 

The mission of the BeHRA consists in promoting the study and development cardiac stimulation, electrophysiology and cardiac rhythmology in the broader sense by organising scientific meetings, exchanging information and supporting fundamental and clinical reasearch. 

BHRM Programme Committee

Dr I. Blankoff, Dr G.H. Mairesse, Dr M. Goethals, Dr H. Van Herendael & Dr J. Vijgen

BHRM 2022

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

We are glad to be back on track and excited to start organising the 16th edition of the Belgian Heart Rhythm Meeting, taking place on 20th and 21st October 2021 at the Sheraton Brussels Airport Hotel. After a year of adjustments, we are really looking forward to meeting you in person this year!

Each year, our renown scientific event gathers over 800 participants with the same aim: bringing together leading cardiologists, professors, doctors, nurses, technicians, and scholars to exchange and share experiences and research results on all aspects of clinical rhythmology.

The scientific programme, presented by a notable line-up of speakers, will focus on all fields of arrhythmias such as life-threatening arrhythmias, Covid time, atrial fibrillation, anticoagulation, novelties in pacing and defibrillation, asymptomatic arrhythmias, new ablation techniques, radioprotection, device optimization, cardiac resynchronization therapy, health economics, ECG interpretation, and arrhythmias in daily practice. You will also have the opportunity to benefit from scientific exchanges during formal activities and informal meetings with colleagues from different backgrounds.

Scientific Committee

BHRM 2022


BHRM Scientific Committee Members

Dr Wim Anné,


Dr Dagmara Dilling-Boer, Hasselt Prof Sébastien Knecht, Bruges Dr Bruno Schwagten, Antwerp
Dr Ivan Blankoff, Charleroi Prof Mattias Duytschaever, Bruges Dr Pieter Koopman, Hasselt

Prof René Tavernier,


Prof Dominique Blommaert, Yvoir

Prof Joris Ector,


Dr Caroline Lepièce, Jolimont

Dr Liesbeth Timmers,


Dr Tim Boussy,


Dr Philippe Evrard,


Prof J.-B. Le Polain de Waroux, Brussels

Dr Lieve Van Casteren,


Prof Dr G-B Chierchia, Brussels

Dr Christophe Garweg, Leuven

Dr Georges H. Mairesse, Arlon Dr Hugo Van Herendael, Genk
Prof Carlo de Asmundis, Brussels

Dr Peter Geelen,


Dr Dieter Nuyens,


Dr Frederic Van Heuverswyn, Ghent
Dr Yves De Greef, Brussels

Dr Marnix Goethals,


Dr Peter Pollet,


Dr Yves Vandekerckhove, Bruges
Dr Alexandre Delcour, 

Dr Peter Goethals,


Dr Frank Provenier,
Prof Thierry Verbeet, Brussels

Dr Antoine de Meester, Jolimont

Prof Hein Heidbüchel, Antwerp Dr Maximo Rivero Ayerza, Genk

Dr Johan Vijgen,


Dr Grim De Meyer,


Dr Jean-Manuel Herzet, Liège Prof Andrea Sarkozy, Antwerp

Prof Rik Willems,


Dr Tom De Potter,


Dr Wim Huybrechts, Antwerp Prof Christophe Scavée, Brussels

Dr Michael Wolf,


Dr Hans de Wilde, Ghent-Brussels Prof Luc Jordaens, Ghent/Brussels